Junior Competition


Nga mihi nui ki a koutou katoa – Thank you for everybody who attended the Kerikeri Netball Centre Junior Prizegiving for 2018. It was fantastic to see so many whanau along to support their teams and to celebrate and share their success.

It has been another wonderful season for all our Junior Players, the 1st half of the year we had our Mother Earth Future Ferns Competition, which was a record breaker for our Centre with over 30 teams taking part from Year 1 – Year 6 from all over our catchment area.  We would like to take this opportunity in thanking NEW WORLD KERIKERI who generously sponsored our Junior/Collegiate Tournament and to The Santuary (Sally Doubleday) who have kindly sponsored our thank you gifts.

A real positive for our Centre this season has been the extension of our Representative Programme to include Y7 & Y8 Development teams to align with NNZ and Centres within our Zone. It was decided that four teams would be created to allow more of our athletes an experience higher level netball and competition.  We would like to acknowledge the following athletes to our Development Teams:-

Kerikeri Rangi - Amber Collins, Charlotte Toto, Kiera Matich, Lani Stevens, Ettie Keys, Alecia Campbell, Madison Campbell, Ivy Hape & Lucy Braiden.

Kerikeri Tawhiri - Katya Zivkovich, Hunter Harris, Ariella Ripohau, Georgia Stevens, Cavalli Taotahi-Hohaia, Avea Samuels, Shaydia-Ray Brown, Amaiah Marsh, Nataliah Kelly.

Kerikeri Wai - Bailey Edwards, Moana Rush, Charlee Littin, Manaakitia Rapata, De’an Boyed, Taylor Le Comte, Summer Bentley-Hape, Ngatawa Brown, Ocean Stillwell, Kayleigh Stewart.

Kerikeri Ahi - Milaan Butler, Linka Kemp-Bruce, Atea Rush, Leilani Dephoff, Roxy-Layne Palmer, Mereana Huirama-Moore, Puti Harris, Tihema Williams, Lily Hargrove.


2018 Round 1 :-

Y7 – Runners Up – Keiths Crew
Y7 – Winners – Te Kura Kaupapa Maori O Taumarere
Y8 – Runners Up – Kawakawa Lovelies
Y8 – Winners – Kaeo Swamp Chicks

In the second round it was decided to regard the competition and we would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge all our teams individually who competed in our Junior Competition:-

Grade 3: Russell Blue Pengiuns, Kawakawa Magic, KKHS Jade, KKHS Topaz, KKHS Sapphire, KKHS Ruby’s

Grade 2: Karetu Ferns, Red Rebels, Waipapa Mowers, KKHS Pounamu, TTKM o Taumarere, Keith’s Crew

Grade 1: KKHS Pearls, KKHS Opals, Kawakawa Lovelies, Kaeo Swamp Chicks, KKHS Emeralds, KKHS Diamonds.

2018 Round 2 -

Grade 3 Runners Up – KKHS Topaz
Grade 3 Winners – KKHS Jade
Grade 2 Runners Up – Waipapa Mowers
Grade 2 Winners – KKHS Pounamu
Grade 1 Runners Up – Kawakawa Lovelies
Grade 1 Winners – Kaeo Swamp Chicks  












Special Awards 2018:-

Team Sportsmanship – Karetu Ferns
Team Effort – KKHS Pounamu
Best Presented Uniform – Russell Blue Penguins
Best Composite Team – Keiths Crew
Most Outstanding Junior Team – Kaeo Swamp Chicks

Most Promising Junior Coach – Sophie Wilkinson & Nicole ManningIMG_1980[1]












IMG_1981[1]Individual Junior Sportsmanship Award – Leilani Dephoff












IMG_1982[1]Best All Round Junior Player – Puti Harris












IMG_1984[1]Outstanding Junior Player – Atea Rush












The Executive Committee would like to sincerely thank once again all the coaches, parents, grandparents, whanau, local principals who continue to support tamariki to play sport within our community.

Nga mihi Matua Anaru for your mihi and kind words …. keep safe everyone, have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you all in 2019.


Mother Earth Future Ferns 

IMG_1174[1] IMG_1147[1]